Watching the Detectives

Quote of the Day: “Cause the high heel he used to be has been ground down/And he listens for the footsteps that would follow him around…” Elvis Costello, “Man Out of Time”

I hate to sound like one of those blurbing quote machines, but listen:

If you like detective thrillers…If you like mob stories…If you like books that take place in Chicago…If you like debut novels that make you happy that you’ve discovered a new writer but pissed that there’s not a catalogue of stuff to then dig into…

READ THIS BOOK:

Sean Chercover, according to his bio, used to be a PI himself. I’m sure that’s why Big City Bad Blood feels so close to the bone real. Ray Dudgeon–one of the best protagonist names I’ve encountered in a long time–is a GREAT character, funny, snide, conflicted, and crazy crazy tough. I loved this book. There are a coupla of teensy flawed moments, but for the most part, when I was done I felt the way I felt after I’d finished my first Walter Mosely, Lee Child, and T. Parker Jefferson–really really satisfied and eager to read more. HIs new one, Trigger City, comes out in October.

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

