The Boy With the Blog in his Side

Quote of the Day: “Sweetness I was only joking/When I said I’d like to smash every tooth in your head…” –The Smiths, “Bigmouth Strikes Again”

Lost In the Moment: Okay, how much did I love hearing Mama Cass’s “Make Your Own Kind of Music” blaring from the speakers in that little underground bunker on Lost last night? Didn’t love the episode—actually enjoyed Invasion more, when I shoulda been enjoying making my deadline, ha ha—but hearing that song, one of my favorites (especially as featured in a wonderful little Brit flick called Beautiful Thing) made my night of TV procrastination all that much sweeter…

Sweet Denise: Loved her in Let’s Do It Again and on Room 222 reruns, and now I can’t wait to read her novel, set during the passionate civil rights battles of the 60s. Nice piece on actress (now writer) Denise Nicholas and her novel Freshwater Road in the L.A. Times

Hot Rod: Rod continues to do his thing over at Rod 2.0, one of my favorite blogs. His interview with Keith Boykin was a fun, informative read. And if you haven’t caught his “public service” to his readers–a continuing series on the homoerotic moments in Fiddy Cents’ autobiography, take yourself over there and check ‘em out…too too funny…

Playa Playa: I hear HBO’s getting into the Mike Epps business, agreeing to develop a half-hour sitcom called The Unsuccessful Thug, based on Epp’s life before he quit dealing and started stand-up-comicing. Good luck to a brotha. HBO needs some colored folks back on the schedule. I just hope they change that title. Isn’t it a little, uh, awful?

In HUNG news: Nice little piece about HUNG in Michael Musto’s column in the this week’s Village Voice

Aight kids, I’m outta here, places to go, naps to take and all that good stuff…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

