Anotherblogentryholenyohead

Quote of the Day: “Paint a perfect picture/Bring 2 life a vision in one’�s mind/The beautiful ones/Always smash the picture/Always everytime…” Prince, “The Beautiful Ones”

Ain’t that America: Can you guess what Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison, Choke by Chuck Palahniuk, Cheaters by Eric Jerome Dickey, How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez and Love In the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez all have in common? Apparently, they’re “unsuitable” in Fayetteville… Read on…

More Family Values: The Family That Shops Together…: What’s the lyric from the Billy Joel song “New York State of Mind”? Oh, yeh: “It was so easy living day by day/Out of touch with the rhythm and blues…” Maybe it’s just my afro-kinky middle class roots showing, but I found myself thinking those lyrics as I giggled my way through the “Look Book” feature in this week’s New York magazine, which you can find online at New York Metro. Now, maybe I’m just too Lawn Guyland suburban, where you just go to the local public school and then take the SATs in 11th grade, but I had one question: What was homegirl doing taking an SAT at age 12?…Where have you gone, Denise Huxtable?

Let’s Go to the Videotape: So, I’m in the deli yesterday and the Latin sista behind the counter is talking to the black woman on line in front of me. “I think,” says the black woman with a laugh, “that he just don’t want nobody seeing him with that black girl. Might ruin his fan base down South.” “Why would it do that?” responds the Latin woman. “They like that kind of stuff down South.” Took me a minute more of listening before I realized they were talking about Colin Farrell and his attempts to stop Nicole Narain from selling their sex tape. I felt way out of touch. I had no idea the girl in the video was black. If you want all the gooey details, skip on over to DEFAMER (my new favorite gossip guilty pleasure). They get all knee-deep in the story. By the by (as my 11th grade English teach Miss Fitzpatrick used to say) Narain’s website opens with a blast of music, of all things mope-rock classic “How Soon Is Now?” by the Smiths–sample lyric: “I am the heir of a shyness that is criminally vulgar”…Uh, shyness?? Hey, Nic? How soon is now exactly? I guess as soon as that video hits the streets and she’s rolling in the dough…after all, she is human and she needs to be loved…just like everybody else does…)

Don’t Call Me Outta My Name: So Puffy, uh, Puff Daddy, oops, I meant P. Diddy—I just call my man Sean like I always have—is about to change his name again? Apparently so, and at least one NYC gossip is getting in on the action, offering a prize to the person who can predict what it’ll be.

Great Scot: And finally, R.I.P to James Doohan of Star Trek fame. I was a fan. And thanks to his performance as Starship Enterprise engineer Montgomery Scott, I heard a bunch of “Beam me up, Scotty” jokes from middle school up until just two days ago. Beam him up, indeed: his remains will be launched into space sometime later this year…Good story here at Yahoo!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

