Tricks & Treats, Summer-style

Quote of the Day: “Show me, show me, show me how you do that trick/’The one that makes me scream,’she said…” — The Cure, “Just Like Heaven” (the greatest pop song of the last twenty years)

So, yeh, it’s been the summer of superpowers with Fantastic Four and Batman Begins doing boffo box office biz. But give me that old-time Brit-kid wizardry any day…yes, my peeps, there’s a huge Harry Potter fan among you and HP and the Half-Blood Prince goes right to the top of my to-be-read pile as of today. If you’re one of those Potter-heads (like yours truly) who’s memory–6 books in–just ain’t what it used to be, you might wanna stop by this Harry Potter glossary spot. Helped me quite a bit. Might help you, too. Quick: Who’s Cornelius Fudge? What’s a squib? Who lives in The Burrow?… See, I told you…
**********************
Okay. how good has Big Brother 6 been thus far? The house is better, the cast is stronger (Kaysar and Ivette, the Latin sista, are my favorites right now) and the “twist” is cooler. “The Summer of Secrets”, indeed. I never thought they’d outdo last year’s twin theme. Remember how cut-throat things got once both twins were in the house together? I can only imagine the back-stabbing and double-dealing once they realize who all the teams are. And to think I use to hate myself for loving this show. Now I just hate CBS for making people pay for the Internet feed.
**********************
Darn, someone up in Sheffield finally sorta gets Stephen Sondheim’s Follies right (at least according to Ben Brantley), and I’m stuck in NYC all summer. Well, at least I have Harry, Hermione, and the rest of Rowling’s crew to occupy my time…at least thru this weekend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

